Last Day of 25th Fajr Intl. Music Festival (+Photo Report) PDF Print E-mail
Written by News Editor   
Saturday, 06 March 2010 06:56

The 25th Fajr International Music Festival was brought to an end with the selection of winners in its six different categories.

The closing ceremony was held at Tehran’s Vahdat Hall where an official and musician Shaahin Farhat read the statement released by the jury. During the festival, eleven halls in Tehran hosted 107 performances by 13 pop bands, six classical ensembles, 12 traditional ensembles, seven choirs and 12 regional music ensembles. The festival also ran in the Iranian

cities of Shiraz and Kerman concurrently with Tehran.(Photo Report)

The ceremony began with tributes paid to Iranian masters of music in the presence of Minister, Deputy Culture Minister for Artistic Affairs, and musicians Kamal Purtorab and Hassan Riahi.

Ashiq Yusuf Ohans was first to appear on stage with his instrument to receive his award. A music video featuring Ashiq Ohans was also screened for the audience in which he stressed how much he loves his music, “I love my instrument and I never let it be too far away from me.” Tehran Symphony Orchestra conductor Manuchehr Sahbaii was next to be honored. Female santur player Azar Hashemi was the third, and the fourth was veteran lute player Abdolvahhab Shahidi.

Pop singer Nima Masiha next gave a performance in memory of late singer Farhad Mehrad followed by handing the awards to the winners.

The regional music section winners; the “Abidar” ensemble (Sanandaj) and “Jolan” (Shirvan) shared first prize, “Sahand” (Tabriz) and “Gil-o-Amarj” (Tehran) shared second prize, and “Dorna” (Bojnurd) and “Naghme-ye Hormozgan” (Bandar Abbas) shared third prize.

The traditional section winners; “Ji” (Mahabad) took first prize, “Faghan” (Tehran) and “Delchasb” (Ahvaz) shared second prize, and “Neda-ye Hatef” (Tehran) took third prize.

Winner of the first place at the classic section was “Arj-o-Nova” from Tehran.

It the choir section, first prize went to the Girls’ Music School, second prize went to “Arpa” from Tehran, and the choirs of Tehran’s Andisheh and Bahman cultural centers shared third prize.

The first prize in the pop music section went to “Cadance” (Tehran), second was “Harmony” (Tehran), and third was “Diruz-o-Emruz” (Isfahan).

At the music composition section, Amir Purkhalaji took first prize, Pejman Khalili and Rebeka Ashubian shared second prize, and Mohammad Karbaschi and Jamal Sameri shared the third place award.

Curtsey:Mehr News


Last Updated on Saturday, 06 March 2010 08:14

Add comment

Security code

Related Items